Misunderstood

People don’t really listen, do they?
When you talk about something, they don’t really bother to hear you, do they?
And if they should bother to listen, they listen just for the sake of listening. They know that if they don’t pretend to listen, you’ll pick up on it, and you’ll whine about it, because that’s what you do when something upsets you. And when you do that, you’ll await the words “oversensitive” and “overemotional” to be bestowed upon you again.

I don’t want you to listen. I want you to understand.

And, I don’t even want the whole world to understand, maybe just one or two people.

One or two people who who truly understand and accept me, without question.

To Be Understood – Empath

I want someone to understand how deeply I care about things; even the things I shouldn’t care about; even the things they don’t care about.

I want someone to understand that my ability to care so intensely about things is not wrong and is not a weakness; no matter how unimportant they deem it to be.

I want someone to understand that just because they don’t understand how I feel, doesn’t meant that it is wrong or unreasonable to feel that way. I want someone to understand that how I feel is my reality, not theirs. I want someone to understand that I don’t need them to feel the same, but just to be there with me all the same.

To Be Understood – Introvert

I want someone to understand how my introversion is a wall to keep out intruders; a wall that is not easily demolished.

I want someone to understand that my silence does not mean I have nothing to say, but rather that I choose to count my words. I want someone to understand that when I choose to speak, I want to be heard and acknowledged; not spoken over or tossed aside as junk mail.

I want someone to understand that I like to observe and listen to people before I open myself up to rejection when I open my mouth.

I want someone to understand that I don’t want to make people uncomfortable; maybe I just feel uncomfortable because people don’t reach out to comfort me.

To Be Understood – Overeverything

I want someone to understand that I have strong emotions; but I am not overemotional.

I want someone to understand that I am sensitive to the world and words around me because of my experiences; but I am not oversensitive.

I want someone to understand that I have a low self-esteem and image of myself, and despite what I may try to portray; I am not overconfident.

I want someone to understand that these emotions may drive me to see things in a different light to others; but I am not crazy.

I want someone to understand that using these words trigger me into feeling like more of a reject than usual; please don’t use these words when I tell you how you made me feel.

I want someone to understand that I have issues that I am not over; but I am trying, and it’s okay to keep trying.

Leave a Reply

